Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by montalban on 03 Jun 2015
  • Disclaimer: I know my story is not accurate according the Greek myths but I wanted to make my own retelling of Hercules labour regarding Hippolyta's girdle. I have more parts to come and will fix up this story later on. It is my first attempt at a short story.

As Hercules stormed out of King Euripides court, annoyed with the never ending tasks the King is giving to him through his step mother Hera, he reminded himself that with the completion of his tasks he would be redeemed for the crimes of his past. One day he was fighting the Nemean Lion, next he was cleaning out the massive stables. Now he had to bring back the girdle of the renowned Amazon queen Hippolyta. The 20 year old stalwart man of 6’4 and thick bushy beard which would immediately remind you of a lion’s mane was confident that he would be able to finish this task quickly and finally earn the redemption he has fought so hard for. It soon might turn out to be his youthful naivety and might get more than he bargained for.

The men in this land have various rumours about the Amazon queen.  Some rumours appeared to be slanderous that she was obese and some said that she was a very muscular man in drags. The others say that her beauty matched that of the goddess Aphrodite and never trained a day in her life and has her amazons do all her dirty work. No matter what rumours maybe true or not, he has a task to complete and bring back the girdle of Hippolyta. He had to spend a week travelling up north to the kingdom of Hippolyta.

As Hercules reached the border of the kingdom surrounded by dense forest, a middle aged forester approached our hero. He warned Hercules not to enter since that is the kingdom of Hippolyte and that she along with her amazons are very unpredictable and were known for their bloodlust. Hercules determined to finish his tasks ignored the forester’s warnings and continued on with his journey.